IIWR-MB hosted a “parallel event” during the  Commission on the Status of Women (CSW62) at the United Nations: Mass Incarceration of Rural and Indigenous Women in Canada. The focus of the panel reflected the CSW62’s priority theme: Social protection systems, access to public services and sustainable infrastructure for gender equality and the empowerment of women and girls.

In 2018, IIWR-MB sent a delegation to the Commission on the Status of Women in New York.  As an organization with Special Consultative Status with the Economic and Social Council of the UN, IIWR-MB can sponsor a delegation to the commission and host a parallel event.


Below you will find reports on the experiences of the delegates, information on the delegates and materials produced in preparation for their attendance.

Parallel Event Panel


Moderator – Dr. Julie Pelletier

Speaker – Terry Duguid, Member of Parliament for Winnipeg South, Parliamentary Secretary for the Status of Women​


Senator Kim Pate, Senate of Canada​

Chantell Barker, Community Justice Development Coordinator at Southern Chiefs Organization Inc.​Annetta Armstrong, Executive Director of Native Women’s Transition Centre​

Debbie Lipscombe, Education Policy Analyst, Grand Council Treaty #3

Terrance Delaronde, Lawyer at Cochrane Saxberg, Board Member of MaMawi Wi Chi Itata Centre​

Grand Chief Sheila North, MKO Grand Chief

The Mass Incarceration of Rural & Indigenous Women in Canada

Rappateur’s Report of the Panel “The Mass Incarceration of Rural and Indigenous Women in Canada”.

Reports and Delegates

Some of the delegates with Senator Marilou McPhedran.


IIWR-MB awarded 6 Citizenship Bursaries for University of Winnipeg’s Global College students attending CSW62.   Micaela Crighton, Haley Hickey, Rachael Howgate, Alexandria Kazmerik, Shayne Bloomfield-Wong and Noelle Sagher. The $500 bursary makes it possible for these students to attend.

IIWR-MB Delegation Membership


Note: 8 members will be part of the World Federalist Movement delegation, and 2 will join the National Council of Women of Canada delegation, Grand Chief Jerry Daniels will be part of the Canadian Delegation, and Chief Marilyn Sinclair, Obashkaandagaang First Nation will also be attending, representing Treaty 3.


  • Katrina LeClerc
  • Alexandria Kazmerik
  • Erika Vas
  • Jordyn Sheldon
  • Shayne Bloomfield-Wong
  • Noelle Sagher
  • Micaela Crighton
  • Rachael Howgate
  • Fiona Favell
  • Darci Todoruk
  • Haley Hickey
  • Megan Johnson
  • Tyler Andrade
  • Mereret Alem Kahsay
  • Patricia Nosal
  • Cassie Kupfer
  • GC Sheila North
  • Hilda Anderson-Pyrz
  • Renata Meconse
  • Chantell Barker
  • Debbie Lipscombe
  • Annetta Armstrong
  • Mary Scott
  • Terrance Delaronde
  • Nicole Meged
  • Arianna Montanino
  • Dr. Julie Pelletier
  • Florence Okwudili
  • Elizabeth Aluk
  • Grand Chief Jerry Daniels
  • Chief Marilyn Sinclair, Obashkaandagaang First Nation
  • Chief Karen Batson
  • Chief Vera Mitchell


NEWS RELEASE – Mass Incarceration of Rural and Indigenous Women in Canada.

Final Report, prepared by Lead Delegate, Mary Scott.

Report prepared by Elizabeth Aluk, Board Member IIWR-MB and delegate,  on her experiences.

CSW62 Agreed Conclusions

Statement signed on to by IIWR-MB, prepared by Soroptimist International, regarding Rural Women. It is expected the statement will be read into the proceedings of the CSW.